I Dreamt In Anger

Daily Prompt: Angry

~~~~~

Who were they to hold us here? What had we done to deserve this…

These questions echoed in my mind. I trembled, my nails digging deep within my flesh. Blood snailed down my arms from the rifts at my fingertips and I watched, listlessly,  as it oozed and dripped. The deep red ichor dribbled at my feet; it splashed against the damp bedrock and against my tattered boots. 

What had we done to deserve this?

“Ana!” One of the others rushed over to me. Her name was Zinipher; Zinny to the underrock. We had become intimate in the passing weeks – something to keep the mind stimulated and the body sharp; that aside, she seemed the only  one who understood the war going on inside of me – or maybe she was just the only one to make an effort…

“Stop…” Zinipher whispered and took my hand, “please.” She turned her brow downward and her nails turned to talons. “Escape this place, little rend! Flee!” She cried.

Who were they to hold us here!

I would not flee.Too long had I been weak, pushing aside that which challenged me. Here and now! I would face them!

I will face them and they will face me!

 

Leave a Reply

