Masks

You are an assasin tasked to kill the crowned prince. So when you find yourself in his arms, cuddling, you wonder how did things get out of your hands.

– r/WritingPrompts post by u/fanominus99

~~~~~

The first and most important step for any doppelganger: disassociate; that is if you were going to make a living of being an “abomination of life.”

“As long as you spend admiring yourself, I’d think you conceited,” the Prince’s trill reached, his scantily clad form filling the doorway behind me.

My gaze drifted from the reflection of my all-too-familiar greens eyes and onto his warming browns twinkling at me and I couldn’t help but return the longing smile that rested on his face. An instant passed before I quickly forced myself to blink away, grabbing a rag at the counter side to wipe away the dripping water from my assumed face.

“Not to hurry you off, peri, but–“

“Oh the rumours that would ravage these halls.” I interrupted with a grin and peered into the mirror again in time to catch the roll of his eyes as he stepped further into the washroom. He tenderly wrapped his arms around my waist and I eased against him, resting the back of my head against the top of his.

“It’s a secret best kept,” he mulled. I scoffed in response, but he spoke and squeezed my sides before I could muster a word. “Don’t laugh! You know they would jump at the chance to get at me somehow.”

The Prince was meticulous. Smart enough to know that someone wanted him out of the picture. That’s why said someone hired me; an inscrutable knife in the back.

“Besides,” he continued after a brief pause, “your face would be posted up everywhere, and I doubt they’d get the important details right.”

~~~~~

WoTD: peri

WoTDC: inscrutable

Leave a comment